New Conference Alignment is set for next year…

By , December 5, 2011 7:39 pm

Conference 1:
Vancouver, Calgary, Edmonton, Los Angeles, San Jose, Anaheim, Colorado, Phoenix
Conference 2:
Winnipeg, Detroit, Chicago, St. Louis, Nashville, Columbus, Dallas, Minnesota
Conference 3:
Toronto, Montreal, Ottawa, Boston, Buffalo, Florida, Tampa Bay
Conference 4:
Pittsburgh, Philadelphia, NY Rangers, NY Islanders, New Jersey, Carolina, Washington

The teams in 7-team Conference will play each other 6 times. Teams in 8-team Conference will play some 5, some 6 inside Conference.
The first two rounds of playoffs will be played within each conference (1 vs. 4, 2 vs. 3).

EDIT: Correction… the realignment has been voted on and passed by the Board of Governors, but still needs NHLPA approval.

Some new tweets:
Elliott Friedman “1. Re-alignment requires NHLPA approval. 2. Playoff format for 3rd rd and beyond still not finalized. GMs to determine.”

Andy Strickland: “League source: ‘don’t get caught up in two confereces having 7 vs two having 8 teams…NHL may expand to 32 teams and all 4 will have 8 #NHL'”

What do you think of the new league alignment?

View Results

Loading ... Loading ...

Panorama Theme by Themocracy

%d bloggers like this: